Fact about DSS

Democratic Party of Serbia


Democratic Party of Serbia
Демократска странка Србије
Demokratska stranka Srbije
Leader Miloš Jovanović
Founder Vojislav Koštunica
Founded July 26, 1992
Split from Democratic Party
Headquarters Braće Jugovića 2a
Membership  (2012) 100,000
Ideology National conservatism
Political position Right wing
European affiliation None*
International affiliation International Democrat Union
Colours Blue
National Assembly

2 / 250

Assembly of Vojvodina

0 / 120

City Assembly of Belgrade

1 / 110


*Formerly associate member of the European People’s Party (until 2012).



The Democratic Party of Serbia (Serbian: Демократска странка Србије / Demokratska stranka Srbije, Serbian abbreviation: ДCC / DSS) is a national conservative and Christian democratic political party in Serbia.




The Democratic Party of Serbia (DSS) was founded in 1992 by a breakaway nationalist faction of the Democratic Party (DS), which advocated involvement in the Democratic Movement of Serbia (DEPOS).

Founding members of the party were Vojislav Koštunica, Vladeta Janković, Đurđe Ninković, Draško Petrović, Mirko Petrović and Vladan Batić. The founding assembly was held on July 26, 1992 and elected Vojislav Koštunica as its first president. The first party assembly was held on December 5, 1992 and adopted the party’s first manifesto.


Vojislav Koštunica, founder and first president


The DSS first competed in the December 1992 parliamentary elections. As part of DEPOS, the DSS received 18 seats in the National Assembly of Serbia – which grew to 20 after non-party-aligned members of DEPOS decided to leave the Parliament. Soon, similar differences of opinion over ways in which to fight the Milošević regime and the approach to national issue that led to division in DS, appeared in DEPOS too. The DSS left the coalition in mid-1993.

Next parliamentary elections in Serbia were called prematurely for December 19, 1993. This time DSS ran independently and received seven seats. This was a period of the party’s political stagnation as it did not have enough seats to significantly influence matters in Serbia and was left without representation in the Federal Assembly.

In 1996, opposition Zajedno (Together) coalition was created. DSS entered the 1996 federal parliamentary elections as part of the coalition and won four seats in the Federal Assembly.


The DSS was a founding member of the Democratic Opposition of Serbia (DOS) whose presidential candidate and leader of the DSS, Vojislav Koštunica defeated Slobodan Milosevic in the 2000 Yugoslav presidential election held on 24 September 2000 winning 50.24% of the vote and defeating Slobodan Milošević who contested the election results.

In the December 2000 Serbian parliamentary election, the Democratic Opposition of Serbia won 64.7% of the popular vote, securing 176 seats in the National Assembly. The DSS was allocated 45 seats. In the ensuing Democratic Opposition of Serbia coalition government, DSS had very little influence with just two cabinet-level ministerial posts, that of Deputy Prime Minister (held by Aleksandar Pravdić) and Minister of Health (held by Obren Joksimović) as well as very few second tier posts of Deputy Minister. The DSS was unhappy with the direction of the DOS Government policy and split from the coalition in late 2001.

In the 2003 parliamentary election, the DSS won 17.7% of the popular vote, translating into 53 seats in the parliament. Of these 53 seats, three went to the People’s Democratic Party (NDS), one to the Serbian Liberal Party and one to the Serbian Democratic Party (SDS).

In 2004 NDS left the coalition with DSS, leaving it with 50 seats in the National Assembly. However, in 2005 both the NDS and the SDS merged into the DSS, bringing its size to 52 seats in the National Assembly.

The DSS won 47 seats in coalition with New Serbia in the 2007 parliamentary election, receiving 667,615 votes or 16.55% of the total popular vote. DSS itself received 33 seats in the parliament, and formed a group together with New Serbia, the Serbian Democratic Renewal Movement and United Serbia.

The leader of the DSS since its foundation, Vojislav Koštunica, was the Prime Minister of Serbia between March 2004 and July 2008 heading up two coalition governments. The first coalition government between March 2004 and July 2007 in coalition with Serbian Renewal Movement and G17 Plus. The second coalition government between July 2007 and July 2008 in coalition with the Democratic Party and G17 Plus.

In the early 2008 parliamentary election held in May 2008 following the self-proclaimed declaration of independence by the Serbian province of Kosovo, the DSS won 30 seats in the National Assembly in coalition with New Serbia. It won 480,987 votes representing 11.62% of the electorate. In coalition with New Serbia 2008-10, it formed the second largest opposition block in the Serbian parliament.

Since 2008 the DSS has positioned itself as a staunch defender of the premise that Kosovo should remain within Serbia (in some shape or form) and that further negotiations must take place to determine a workable political outcome regarding Kosovo and Serbia. Because of this approach, the DSS is against Serbia joining the EU if in return it is bound to acknowledge the legitimacy of the self-proclaimed independent Kosovo.

The party left the European People’s Party in February 2012.

The party competed independently in the 2012 parliamentary elections in May 2012 and received 7% of the popular vote (273,532 votes) translating into 21 Members of Parliament.

In 2014, founder and first president of DSS Vojislav Koštunica left the party over its abandonment of the idea of political neutrality. Subsequently, Slobodan Samardžić, Dragan Jočić, Vladeta Janković and Dejan Mihajlov also announced their departure in response to differences of opinion over the course of DSS.

Presidents of the Democratic Party of Serbia (1992–Present)

# President Born-Died Term start Term end
1 Vojislav Koštunica Vojislav Koštunica 2005.jpg 1944– 26 July 1992 19 March 2014
2 Sanda Rašković Ivić

Sanda Rašković Ivić Crop.jpg

1956– 12 October 2014  
National Assembly of Serbia
Election # of votes  % of vote # of seats /- Notes Government
1992 797,831 16.89%

18 / 250

Increase 18 Coalition DEPOS opposition
1993 218.056 5.07%

7 / 250

Decrease 11   opposition
1997 Election boycott Election boycott

0 / 250

Decrease 7   opposition
2000 2,402,387 64.09%

45 / 250

Increase 45 Coalition DOS opposition*
2003 678,031 17.73%

51 / 250

Increase 6   government
2007 667,615 16.55%

33 / 250

Decrease 18 Coalition with NS-JS government
2008 480,987 11.62%

21 / 250

Decrease 12 Coalition with NS opposition
2012 273,532 7.00%

21 / 250

Steady 0   opposition
2014 152,436 4.24%

0 / 250

Decrease 21   opposition

Government (2000–2001)
Opposition (2001–2004)

Major positions held by Democratic Party of Serbia members:

President of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Years
Vojislav Koštunica 2000–2003
President of the National Assembly of Serbia Years
Dragan Maršićanin
Prime Minister of Serbia Years
Vojislav Koštunica 2004–2008